Friday, February 25, 2011


i don't have too much time to post today, since i have clinic in raleigh this morning and i want to a) work out and b) finish packing before i head over there. i have seen this little meme floating around lately -- chelsea, and heather, and jess, thanks for the inspiration!

A. age: 30. interestingly, it turns out that 30 feels . . . pretty much just like 27.

B. bed size: queen. and i like to spread out and take up approximately 75% of it =D

C. chore you hate: i really try NOT to hate chores -- i mean, i know i have to do them, and pain is inevitable, suffering it optional, you know? but i could do without taking out the trash/recycling. (to those of you who answered "folding laundry" --> that's my favorite!! i'll come over and do yours!)

D. dogs: i'm not really a dog lover, but west highland terriers have a special place in my heart . . . especially the puppies!

just try not to smile . . . [source]

E. essential start to your day: i feel like there are many essential starts to my day, but coffee is a non-negotiable requirement.

F. favorite color: i'm going to steal my sister-in-law's answer on this one and say: striped!

G. gold or silver: platinum, duh. no, in actuality, aside from my wedding rings i have so little jewelry that i can barely answer this question, but i don't have anything gold so i'd have to say silver.

H. height: 5’1", on a good day. 5'5" in my highest shoes!

I. instruments you play(ed): why oh why didn't glee exist when i was growing up!? because i was rocking the cheerleading uniform in chorus well before quinn and brittany. i also played piano (for 11ish years) and violin (for 8 years). i was pretty good but had no work ethic because i really didn't love to practice.

J. job title: zealous early morning over-sharer, laundress/gourmet home chef, and (according to my business cards) fellow, pediatric endocrinology

K. kids: i don't think there is much question where i stand on this issue.

L. live: in the present! (or at least, i'm working on it.)

M. mom’s name: caryn (mom, i'll leave your lovely "creative" middle name out of this. ha!)

N. nicknames: SHU

O. overnight hospital stays: ha, wayyyyy too MANY! but never as a patient . . .

P. pet peeve: listening to people* whine about how busy/tired they are. [*if there is a newborn baby at home or multiple kids running around, the complainer is excused. i can't exactly pretend i know what that is like!]

Q. quote from a movie: frank T.J. mackey: "In this life, it's not what you hope for, it's not what you deserve - it's what you take!" -- magnolia, 1999.

R. right or left handed: left!

S. siblings: rebecca, 28, who lives in raleigh, and who i don't see NEARLY enough.

T. time you wake up: 5 on weekdays; usually 7ish on weekends (i know: i said i was 30, but i'm 75 on the inside!)

U. underwear: current: gapbody or victoria's secret; wishful thinking: oh yeahhhh

V. vegetables you dislike: i'm not sure if it qualifies as a true vegetable, but: down with cilantro!

W. what makes you run late: um, josh. sometimes. and also: writing posts like this! but it's worth it.

X. X-Rays you’ve had: dental, hip (plus a bonus MRI!), hand (i broke my thumb in 10th grade doing a back handspring into a table. yeah.)

Y. yummy food you make: i like to think that the answer to this is lots!

Z. zoo- favorite animal: i've always thought zebras were pretty sweet (see: favorite color, above). but this question is a BIT of a cop-out, huh? although i have to admit i'm having a hard time coming up with a real question that starts with z! "zamboni-driving experience?" hmmm. well, how about "zen habits posts you love"? here are a couple!

off to clinic
and then, off to SUMMER!

ahhh so excited for some sun therapy

i might even check out the local yoga studio!

anahatayogastudio, located 0.5 miles from josh's parents' house



workout: 3.25 mi run (30 minutes) on the TM

dining in: i just whipped up these indian delicacies:

vegetable samosa, tandoori chicken, vegetables, chapathi

okay, fine, this was takeout. josh brought this lovely meal home from curryblossom cafe in carrboro. it was comforting and delicious and i would definitely take out from there again!